Chief Justice Gary Wade

Tennessee ’70

Foundation Trustee Elected Chief Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court

In accordance with article VI, section 2 of the Tennessee Constitution, Tennessee Code Annotated section 16-3-102, and Rule 32 of the Rules of the Supreme Court, the members of the Court have unanimously elected Justice Gary R. Wade (Tennessee ’70) to serve the full two-year term which will begin on September 1,2012, and shall end on August 31, 2014. Justice Wade shall have all the responsibilities and perform all the duties attendant to the office of Chief Justice.

Gary R. Wade, former Phi Delta Theta Province President and current Phi Delta Theta Foundation Trustee, was appointed to the Tennessee Supreme Court in 2006. Prior to his appointment to the Supreme Court, Justice Wade served on the Court of Criminal Appeals for 19 years, and served as presiding judge of that court for eight years. Before taking the bench, Justice Wade was in private practice for 15 years. He also served as mayor of Sevierville from 1977 to 1987.

Justice Wade received both his law degree and his undergraduate degree from the University of Tennessee.

Justice Wade was named Tennessee Appellate Judge of the Year in 2004. He served as president of the Tennessee Judicial Conference in 1995-1996 and is the founder of the Tennessee Judicial Conference Bar Foundation.

An active member of the community, Justice Wade is co-founder and chairman emeritus of the Friends of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and co-founder of Leadership Sevier. He also serves on the board of directors for the East Tennessee Historical Society and Sevier County High School Foundation.

Learn about other Famous Phis